Week of October 20th – Proportional Reasoning

Exploring Resources

This week was my learning presentation on proportional reasoning. I was responsible for the Proportional Reasoning section of our course. Due to some time constraints, I was not able to cover the “percent” part of the chapter, but I was able to reasonably cover strategies for teaching “ratio” and “rate”. Here is my presentation:

Proportional reasoning can be really fun to cover with students in the classroom. Lets take a look at some more resources that cover ratio, rate and percent.

EduGains – Big Ideas and Questioning K-8: Proportional Reasoning. This resource is a general document that looks at key concepts covered in each division. It demonstrates a good overview of proportional reasoning and gives some help with creating a three-part lesson plan. This is a great starting resource for educators and even for parents who wish to help their kids with their homework. I believe it is important for parents to have access to resources like this so they can understand what the teachers are teaching and looking for from their kids. It can help them reinforce these concepts in home situations.

IXL Learning (click here, use Ctrl + F and type “Proportional Reasoning”). I talked about this resource before. It has example problems that are directly related to the Ontario curriculum. These are great for extra practice for students or for educators to get ideas for their lesson plans.

LearnTeachLead.ca. This is a website with resources that are build around the Ontario Ministry of Education’s curriculum expectations. This link leads you to the beginning of a three-part lesson plan example that is about proportional reasoning. Three-part lesson plans are an excellent research based method of lesson delivery and this example is an extremely valuable resource not only for proportional reasoning teaching, but for three-part lesson teaching as well. On the left bar you can also access detailed pdf documents that outline what is happening during each of the three sections of the lesson. I like these videos because new educators can look at how the students are processing the information and how the experienced educator frames her questions to create high level connections for her students. A must visit resource!

Reflection

As I prepared for my presentation, I consulted a variety of sources to extend my learning. As I presented, I felt I had a great grasp over the content I needed to share with my peers. Upon reflection, this is the feeling that I should always have going into a lesson with my students. This is similar to our class discussion about how teachers need to do the problems before they present them to the students. I should be able to use multiple resources to consolidate my learning and take a complete set of strategies and problems to my students.

One of the sources I relied on was my associate teacher at my placement school. She allowed me to test out the questions on the students during a math review period. This experience turned out to be extremely valuable because not only did I have the students tangible work, but I was also able to question them about their thinking. This allows me to find gaps in the way I explain or demonstrate proportional reasoning in the future, because I now have better understanding of common misconceptions. The resources of fellow teachers and actual experience are components I cannot overlook as I continue to expand my knowledge of teaching.

– AJM

Leave a Reply

